SSL creates a secure connection between two PCs or devices that are connected to the internet or a private network. When SSL is used to secure communication between a web browser and a web server, this is a frequent example. The ‘S’ in HTTPS stands for ‘secure,’ and it changes the address of a website from HTTP to HTTPS.

The internet is a dangerous place. As you browse, your data can be intercepted and stolen by bad actors. It’s essential to protect yourself from cybercriminals with SSL certificates. But what are the different types of SSL certificates available? This blog post will discuss the different types of certificates you can have based on the SSL you obtain.

What Is an SSL Certificate?

An SSL certificate is a small data file that digitally ties together an organization and its website. It contains information about the owner of the site, who is verified by a third-party Certificate Authority (CA). This ensures visitors to your site can securely communicate with you in private because it confirms your identity and encrypts their data when they visit your site.

Types Of SSL Certificate

Extended Validation (EV) SSL Certificate

An Extended Validation SSL Certificate is an authentication method used to enhance the security of websites. An EV certificate provides several clear advantages over regular domain validation certificates due to its strict vetting process. It also ensures trust via browser recognition and verification that the organization behind the website is who it claims to be – not someone masquerading as them online.

Organization Validated (OV SSL) Certificate

This is the most common type of SSL certificate, and it’s an ideal option for sites that do not deal with sensitive data. The main benefit of this kind of certificate is its low cost, but they are still considered a secure way to encrypt information sent between your website and visitors’ browsers. This Certificate provides encryption up to 128bit strength, which means that keys are held by the provider before being issued, making them less vulnerable than self-signed certificates.

Domain Validation (DV) Certificate

These certificates are the most cost-effective for personal use. They can be issued in minutes, and they provide encryption between just your server and browsers that connect to it. For an organization, you could offer DV SSL without additional validation documentation so long as you ensure all your employees practice safe computing habits (e.g., using complex passwords).

Wildcard SSL Certificates

A wildcard SSL certificate is a type of security that secures all sub-domains. For example, if you have the domain, then even your blog will be secured via an SSL certification through this secure connection. The benefit to having a ‘wildcard’ cert is that it provides excellent protection for any future changes in a business name or product name because you won’t need another individual certificate/cert for each part of your website.

Unified Communications (UCC) SSL Certificate

Unified Communications (UCC) SSL Certificates are for companies that need to secure their email servers and IM/P. This type of certificate is usually used when the business has a small number of domains, such as an e-commerce store with only one domain name or two different ones related in some way.

Single Domain SSL Certificate

A single-domain SSL certificate is the most common type of digital SSL certificate. It validates all subdomains, allowing you to encrypt traffic for any page on your site.

The Bottom Line

SSL security is essential, and you need to make sure the one your website uses has good encryption. The best way to do that is by using an SSL certificate. There are many different types of these certificates, and you should be aware of each one’s specific use case before choosing the right type for your website.