How To Take Age Restriction Off Youtube?

How To Take Age Restriction Off Youtube?

Small businesses can use social media channels like Google’s YouTube to market and sell their products. However, if you’re seeking to access specific films that would be considered adult in nature, YouTube’s age restriction settings can be a hindrance. YouTube has a feature called “Safety Mode,” which is part of the YouTube age restriction standards and prevents minors from accessing NSFW YouTube videos. There is, however, a way to turn off Safety Mode, allowing you to access the full variety of films and services available on the famous website.

Please update or add your date of birth.

YouTube’s age restrictions are designed to keep NSFW YouTube video content out of the hands of children who are unable to make informed decisions. As a result, Google’s restrictions are based on the age that users provide on their Google Plus profiles. You must go to the Google Plus page to add or change your date of birth so that YouTube considers you an adult.

Log in with your Google account’s email address and password. Click the “Profile” tab on the left side of the screen after clicking the “Home” item at the top of the page. Examine the information about your profile under the “About” page. Click the pencil icon next to the birthdate selection in the “Gender, birthdate, and more” option. To update or add your date of birth to your Google Plus profile, enter your date of birth and click “Save.”

Turn off the safety mode.

Go to the YouTube homepage and click your profile symbol at the top of the screen to switch off Safety Mode. Go to the bottom of the drop-down menu. “Restricted Mode: On” is the last choice; click the box and choose “Restricted Mode: Off.” If Safety Mode is on, you will be prompted to sign in using your Google account and password before being able to stop it. To ensure that Safety Mode is turned off, click “Save.” You may now watch any NSFW YouTube video without having to worry about YouTube’s bothersome age restrictions.

Factors to Consider

Because YouTube’s Restricted Mode is tied to each device, you must disable each one separately. As a result, any browser that manages multiple profiles must be turned off for each new profile you create. Also keep in mind that removing Restricted Mode allows your employees to view unsuitable or offensive video content, which may be in violation of company policies.

How to turn off ‘Restricted Mode’ on YouTube to watch any video without filters?

Restricted Mode on YouTube allows viewers to filter out “possibly mature content” using titles, descriptions, metadata, and age limits. It’s worth mentioning, though, that these filters aren’t always accurate, and things can slip between the gaps.

It also disables comments on all videos, including those you may see.

If you want to disable restricted mode, you’re in luck: It’s simple enough to do, and should just take a minute if you’re using your personal computer or phone and signed into the YouTube account you used to set up limited mode.

This is because limited mode may have been activated by some administrations, such as libraries and institutions. Only that administrator – the one who turned it on – has the authority to turn it off in that circumstance.

To turn off Restricted Mode on YouTube using a desktop computer or the mobile app, follow these steps.

How to turn off Restricted Mode on YouTube on a computer?

Once you know where to go, this is a very short and simple process to complete:

1. Go to youtube.com and select your profile symbol in the top-right corner of the page.

2. Scroll down to the “Restricted Mode: On” option at the bottom of the menu.

public service announcement

3. Turn off the “Activate Restricted Mode” switch (it will go from blue to grey).

How to turn off Restricted Mode on YouTube in the mobile app?

Turning off restricted mode on the YouTube mobile app is exactly as simple as it is on the desktop version.

1. Open the YouTube app and press the top-right corner of the screen to access your profile image.

2. Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu.

3. Toggle off the “Restricted Mode” option for iPhone users. Users on Android should go to “General” and turn off the “Restricted Mode” option.

Melina Richardson is a Cyber Security Enthusiast, Security Blogger, Technical Editor, Certified Ethical Hacker, Author at Cybers Guards & w-se. Previously, he worked as a security news reporter.